DVD 4: The Historical Books

Get the Full Version


The historical books are the next 12 books – Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1&2 Samuel, 1&2 Kings, 1&2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, and Esther. In a Hebrew Bible, some of these books are in a section called the “Former Prophets,” and the rest are in a section called the “Writings.” They’re the same books as in English Bibles, just organized a little differently.

What on earth is that?


Oop – there he goes!

CAP’N PETE (singing)

When you open the Old Testament and read it categorically, You’ll find a dozen books that we are meant to read historically. They tell the tales of Israel. There’s nothin’ metaphorical. And that is why these books are in a section called “Historical!”

Joshua and Judges – and Ruth and both the Samuels, First and Second Kings in front of First and Second Chronicles

Then Ezra, Nehemiah, and now there’s just one more to fall – Esther is the final of the books we call historical!


Hmm. That was weird.

Comment on a post